About us

2019/3/28
consulate
Consulate-General of Japan in Penang

Level 28, Menara BHL
No. 51, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah
10050 Penang, MALAYSIA

Jurisdiction:
Penang State, Perak State, Kedah State, Perlis State, Kelantan State and Terrenganu State

Opening hours

Consular Office

library
Monday to Friday
08:30 - 12:00
14:00 - 16:00

The consular office is closed on Malaysian public holidays and on designated Japanese holidays.

TEL: (604) 226-3030
FAX:(604) 226-1030
EMAIL:cgjp@pe.mofa.go.jp

Information and Culture Library

library
Monday to Friday
08:30 to 12:00
14:00 to 16:00

The Information and Culture Library is closed on Malaysian public holidays and designated Japanese holidays. The library may also be closed on those days when events are held at the Consulate. If you wish to use the library, please contact the Information and Culture section beforehand to ensure availability.

TEL:  (604) 217-7118
FAX:(604) 226-1030
E-mail: jis.cgjp@pe.mofa.go.jp

Directions & Holiday closure

Directions



【Access by Car】
Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah is one-way street. As soon as you get on the street from either Gurney Drive or Jalan Pangkor, switch to the right lane and turn right at the entrance to the side way in front of Northam hotel. Seeing the hotel on your right hand side, drive straight for about 100m and you will find Menara BHL as it appears on the above photo. Please enter from the front entrance, present your ID to get the access pass at the registration counter on the ground floor and proceed to the Consulate located on the 28th floor.

【Access by Public Transportation】
Get off at the bus stop in front of Gleneagles hospital and walk across the street on the nearest crosswalk. Turn left, walk along the curved street and you will soon find Northam hotel on your right. Keep walking straight for another 100m and you will see Menara BHL on your right. Please enter from the front entrance, present your ID to get the access pass at the registration counter on the ground floor and proceed to the Consulate located on the 28th floor. It is about 10 minutes’ walk from the bus stop.
 

Holiday Closure 2021

1. New Year Holiday Jan 1 Fri
2. Thaipusam Jan 28 Thu
3. Chinese New year Feb 12 Fri
4. Nuzul Al- Quran Apr 29 Thu
5. Hari Raya Aidilfitri May 13 Thu
6. Hari Raya Aidilfitri Holiday Mar 14 Fri
7. Wesak Day May 26 Wed
8. Agong’s Birthday June 7 Mon
9. Georgetown World Heritage City Day July 7 Wed
10. Hari Raya Haji July 20  Tue
11. Awal Muharram Aug 10 Tue
12. Merdeka Day Aug 31 Tue
13. Malaysia Day Sep 16 Thu
14. Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday Oct 19 Tue
15. Deepavali Nov 4   Thu
16. Year-end-holiday Dec 29 Wed
17. Year-end-holiday Dec 30 Thu
18. Year-end-holiday Dec 31 Fri